跳到主要内容

运维常见问题

运维常见问题

本文档主要用于记录 Doris 使用过程中的运维常见问题。会不定期更新。

文中的出现的BE二进制文件名称 doris_be,在之前的版本中为 palo_be

Q1. 通过 DECOMMISSION 下线BE节点时,为什么总会有部分tablet残留?

在下线过程中,通过 show backends 查看下线节点的 tabletNum ,会观察到 tabletNum 数量在减少,说明数据分片正在从这个节点迁移走。当数量减到0时,系统会自动删除这个节点。但某些情况下,tabletNum 下降到一定数值后就不变化。这通常可能有以下两种原因:

  1. 这些 tablet 属于刚被删除的表、分区或物化视图。而刚被删除的对象会保留在回收站中。而下线逻辑不会处理这些分片。可以通过修改 FE 的配置参数 catalog_trash_expire_second 来修改对象在回收站中驻留的时间。当对象从回收站中被删除后,这些 tablet就会被处理了。
  2. 这些 tablet 的迁移任务出现了问题。此时需要通过 show proc "/cluster_balance" 来查看具体任务的错误了。

对于以上情况,可以先通过 show proc "/cluster_health/tablet_health"; 查看集群是否还有 unhealthy 的分片,如果为0,则可以直接通过 drop backend 语句删除这个 BE 。否则,还需要具体查看不健康分片的副本情况。

Q2. priorty_network 应该如何设置?

priorty_network 是 FE、BE 都有的配置参数。这个参数主要用于帮助系统选择正确的网卡 IP 作为自己的 IP 。建议任何情况下,都显式的设置这个参数,以防止后续机器增加新网卡导致IP选择不正确的问题。

priorty_network 的值是 CIDR 格式表示的。分为两部分,第一部分是点分十进制的 IP 地址,第二部分是一个前缀长度。比如 10.168.1.0/8 会匹配所有 10.xx.xx.xx 的IP地址,而 10.168.1.0/16 会匹配所有 10.168.xx.xx 的 IP 地址。

之所以使用 CIDR 格式而不是直接指定一个具体 IP,是为了保证所有节点都可以使用统一的配置值。比如有两个节点:10.168.10.1 和 10.168.10.2,则我们可以使用 10.168.10.0/24 来作为 priorty_network 的值。

Q3. FE的Master、Follower、Observer都是什么?

首先明确一点,FE 只有两种角色:Follower 和 Observer。而 Master 只是一组 Follower 节点中选择出来的一个 FE。Master 可以看成是一种特殊的 Follower。所以当我们被问及一个集群有多少 FE,都是什么角色时,正确的回答当时应该是所有 FE 节点的个数,以及 Follower 角色的个数和 Observer 角色的个数。

所有 Follower 角色的 FE 节点会组成一个可选择组,类似 Poxas 一致性协议里的组概念。组内会选举出一个 Follower 作为 Master。当 Master 挂了,会自动选择新的 Follower 作为 Master。而 Observer 不会参与选举,因此 Observer 也不会称为 Master 。

一条元数据日志需要在多数 Follower 节点写入成功,才算成功。比如3个 FE ,2个写入成功才可以。这也是为什么 Follower 角色的个数需要是奇数的原因。

Observer 角色和这个单词的含义一样,仅仅作为观察者来同步已经成功写入的元数据日志,并且提供元数据读服务。他不会参与多数写的逻辑。

通常情况下,可以部署 1 Follower + 2 Observer 或者 3 Follower + N Observer。前者运维简单,几乎不会出现 Follower 之间的一致性协议导致这种复杂错误情况(企业大多使用这种方式)。后者可以保证元数据写的高可用,如果是高并发查询场景,可以适当增加 Observer。

Q4. 节点新增加了新的磁盘,为什么数据没有均衡到新的磁盘上?

当前Doris的均衡策略是以节点为单位的。也就是说,是按照节点整体的负载指标(分片数量和总磁盘利用率)来判断集群负载。并且将数据分片从高负载节点迁移到低负载节点。如果每个节点都增加了一块磁盘,则从节点整体角度看,负载并没有改变,所以无法触发均衡逻辑。

此外,Doris目前并不支持单个节点内部,各个磁盘间的均衡操作。所以新增磁盘后,不会将数据均衡到新的磁盘。

但是,数据在节点之间迁移时,Doris会考虑磁盘的因素。比如一个分片从A节点迁移到B节点,会优先选择B节点中,磁盘空间利用率较低的磁盘。

这里我们提供3种方式解决这个问题:

  1. 重建新表

    通过create table like 语句建立新表,然后使用 insert into select的方式将数据从老表同步到新表。因为创建新表时,新表的数据分片会分布在新的磁盘中,从而数据也会写入新的磁盘。这种方式适用于数据量较小的情况(几十GB以内)。

  2. 通过Decommission命令

    decommission命令用于安全下线一个BE节点。该命令会先将该节点上的数据分片迁移到其他节点,然后在删除该节点。前面说过,在数据迁移时,会优先考虑磁盘利用率低的磁盘,因此该方式可以“强制”让数据迁移到其他节点的磁盘上。当数据迁移完成后,我们在cancel掉这个decommission操作,这样,数据又会重新均衡回这个节点。当我们对所有BE节点都执行一遍上述步骤后,数据将会均匀的分布在所有节点的所有磁盘上。

    注意,在执行decommission命令前,先执行以下命令,以避免节点下线完成后被删除。

    admin set frontend config("drop_backend_after_decommission" = "false");

  3. 使用API手动迁移数据

    Doris提供了HTTP API,可以手动指定一个磁盘上的数据分片迁移到另一个磁盘上。

Q5. 如何正确阅读 FE/BE 日志?

很多情况下我们需要通过日志来排查问题。这里说明一下FE/BE日志的格式和查看方式。

  1. FE

    FE日志主要有:

    • fe.log:主日志。包括除fe.out外的所有内容。
    • fe.warn.log:主日志的子集,仅记录 WARN 和 ERROR 级别的日志。
    • fe.out:标准/错误输出的日志(stdout和stderr)。
    • fe.audit.log:审计日志,记录这个FE接收的所有SQL请求。

    一条典型的FE日志如下:

    2021-09-16 23:13:22,502 INFO (tablet scheduler|43) [BeLoadRebalancer.selectAlternativeTabletsForCluster():85] cluster is balance: default_cluster with medium: HDD. skip
    • 2021-09-16 23:13:22,502:日志时间。
    • INFO:日志级别,默认是INFO
    • (tablet scheduler|43):线程名称和线程id。通过线程id,就可以查看这个线程上下文信息,方面排查这个线程发生的事情。
    • BeLoadRebalancer.selectAlternativeTabletsForCluster():85:类名、方法名和代码行号。
    • cluster is balance xxx:日志内容。

    通常情况下我们主要查看fe.log日志。特殊情况下,有些日志可能输出到了fe.out中。

  2. BE

    BE日志主要有:

    • be.INFO:主日志。这其实是个软连,连接到最新的一个 be.INFO.xxxx上。
    • be.WARNING:主日志的子集,仅记录 WARN 和 FATAL 级别的日志。这其实是个软连,连接到最新的一个 be.WARN.xxxx上。
    • be.out:标准/错误输出的日志(stdout和stderr)。

    一条典型的BE日志如下:

    I0916 23:21:22.038795 28087 task_worker_pool.cpp:1594] finish report TASK. master host: 10.10.10.10, port: 9222
    • I0916 23:21:22.038795:日志等级和日期时间。大写字母I表示INFO,W表示WARN,F表示FATAL。
    • 28087:线程id。通过线程id,就可以查看这个线程上下文信息,方面排查这个线程发生的事情。
    • task_worker_pool.cpp:1594:代码文件和行号。
    • finish report TASK xxx:日志内容。

    通常情况下我们主要查看be.INFO日志。特殊情况下,如BE宕机,则需要查看be.out。

Q6. FE/BE 节点挂了应该如何排查原因?

  1. BE

    BE进程是 C/C++ 进程,可能会因为一些程序Bug(内存越界,非法地址访问等)或 Out Of Memory(OOM)导致进程挂掉。此时我们可以通过以下几个步骤查看错误原因:

    1. 查看be.out

      BE进程实现了在程序因异常情况退出时,会打印当前的错误堆栈到be.out里(注意是be.out,不是be.INFO或be.WARNING)。通过错误堆栈,通常能够大致获悉程序出错的位置。

      注意,如果be.out中出现错误堆栈,通常情况下是因为程序bug,普通用户可能无法自行解决,欢迎前往微信群、github discussion 或dev邮件组寻求帮助,并贴出对应的错误堆栈,以便快速排查问题。

    2. dmesg

      如果be.out没有堆栈信息,则大概率是因为OOM被系统强制kill掉了。此时可以通过dmesg -T 这个命令查看linux系统日志,如果最后出现 Memory cgroup out of memory: Kill process 7187 (doris_be) score 1007 or sacrifice child 类似的日志,则说明是OOM导致的。

      内存问题可能有多方面原因,如大查询、导入、compaction等。Doris也在不断优化内存使用。欢迎前往微信群、github discussion 或dev邮件组寻求帮助。

    3. 查看be.INFO中是否有F开头的日志。

      F开头的日志是 Fatal 日志。如 F0916 ,表示9月16号的Fatal日志。Fatal日志通常表示程序断言错误,断言错误会直接导致进程退出(说明程序出现了Bug)。欢迎前往微信群、github discussion 或dev邮件组寻求帮助。

  2. FE

    FE 是 java 进程,健壮程度要由于 C/C++ 程序。通常FE 挂掉的原因可能是 OOM(Out-of-Memory)或者是元数据写入失败。这些错误通常在 fe.log 或者 fe.out 中有错误堆栈。需要根据错误堆栈信息进一步排查。

Q7. 关于数据目录SSD和HDD的配置, 建表有时候会遇到报错Failed to find enough host with storage medium and tag

Doris支持一个BE节点配置多个存储路径。通常情况下,每块盘配置一个存储路径即可。同时,Doris支持指定路径的存储介质属性,如SSD或HDD。SSD代表高速存储设备,HDD代表低速存储设备。

如果集群只有一种介质比如都是HDD或者都是SSD,最佳实践是不用在be.conf中显式指定介质属性。如果遇到上述报错Failed to find enough host with storage medium and tag,一般是因为be.conf中只配置了SSD的介质,而fe中参数default_storage_medium默认为HDD,因此建表时会发现没有HDD介质的存储而报错。解决方案可以修改此FE配置并重启FE生效;或者将be.conf中SSD的显式配置去掉;或者建表时增加properties参数 properties {"storage_medium" = "ssd"}均可

通过指定路径的存储介质属性,我们可以利用Doris的冷热数据分区存储功能,在分区级别将热数据存储在SSD中,而冷数据会自动转移到HDD中。

需要注意的是,Doris并不会自动感知存储路径所在磁盘的实际存储介质类型。这个类型需要用户在路径配置中显式的表示。比如路径 "/path/to/data1.SSD" 即表示这个路径是SSD存储介质。而 "data1.SSD" 就是实际的目录名称。Doris是根据目录名称后面的 ".SSD" 后缀来确定存储介质类型的,而不是实际的存储介质类型。也就是说,用户可以指定任意路径为SSD存储介质,而Doris仅识别目录后缀,不会去判断存储介质是否匹配。如果不写后缀,则默认为HDD。

换句话说,".HDD" 和 ".SSD" 只是用于标识存储目录“相对”的“低速”和“高速”之分,而并不是标识实际的存储介质类型。所以如果BE节点上的存储路径没有介质区别,则无需填写后缀。

Q8. 多个FE,在使用Nginx实现web UI负载均衡时,无法登录

Doris 可以部署多个FE,在访问Web UI的时候,如果使用Nginx进行负载均衡,因为Session问题会出现不停的提示要重新登录,这个问题其实是Session共享的问题,Nginx提供了集中Session共享的解决方案,这里我们使用的是nginx中的ip_hash技术,ip_hash能够将某个ip的请求定向到同一台后端,这样一来这个ip下的某个客户端和某个后端就能建立起稳固的session,ip_hash是在upstream配置中定义的:

upstream  doris.com {
server 172.22.197.238:8030 weight=3;
server 172.22.197.239:8030 weight=4;
server 172.22.197.240:8030 weight=4;
ip_hash;
}

完整的Nginx示例配置如下:

user nginx;
worker_processes auto;
error_log /var/log/nginx/error.log;
pid /run/nginx.pid;

# Load dynamic modules. See /usr/share/doc/nginx/README.dynamic.
include /usr/share/nginx/modules/*.conf;

events {
worker_connections 1024;
}

http {
log_format main '$remote_addr - $remote_user [$time_local] "$request" '
'$status $body_bytes_sent "$http_referer" '
'"$http_user_agent" "$http_x_forwarded_for"';

access_log /var/log/nginx/access.log main;

sendfile on;
tcp_nopush on;
tcp_nodelay on;
keepalive_timeout 65;
types_hash_max_size 2048;

include /etc/nginx/mime.types;
default_type application/octet-stream;

# Load modular configuration files from the /etc/nginx/conf.d directory.
# See http://nginx.org/en/docs/ngx_core_module.html#include
# for more information.
include /etc/nginx/conf.d/*.conf;
#include /etc/nginx/custom/*.conf;
upstream doris.com {
server 172.22.197.238:8030 weight=3;
server 172.22.197.239:8030 weight=4;
server 172.22.197.240:8030 weight=4;
ip_hash;
}

server {
listen 80;
server_name gaia-pro-bigdata-fe02;
if ($request_uri ~ _load) {
return 307 http://$host$request_uri ;
}

location / {
proxy_pass http://doris.com;
proxy_redirect default;
}
error_page 500 502 503 504 /50x.html;
location = /50x.html {
root html;
}
}
}

Q9. FE启动失败,fe.log中一直滚动 "wait catalog to be ready. FE type UNKNOWN"

这种问题通常有两个原因:

  1. 本次FE启动时获取到的本机IP和上次启动不一致,通常是因为没有正确设置 priority_network 而导致 FE 启动时匹配到了错误的 IP 地址。需修改 priority_network 后重启 FE。
  2. 集群内多数 Follower FE 节点未启动。比如有 3 个 Follower,只启动了一个。此时需要将另外至少一个 FE 也启动,FE 可选举组方能选举出 Master 已提供服务。

如果以上情况都不能解决,可以按照 Doris 官网文档中的元数据运维文档进行恢复。

Q10. Lost connection to MySQL server at 'reading initial communication packet', system error: 0

如果使用 MySQL 客户端连接 Doris 时出现如下问题,这通常是因为编译 FE 时使用的 jdk 版本和运行 FE 时使用的 jdk 版本不同导致的。 注意使用 docker 编译镜像编译时,默认的 JDK 版本是 openjdk 11,可以通过命令切换到 openjdk 8(详见编译文档)。

Q11. recoveryTracker should overlap or follow on disk last VLSN of 4,422,880 recoveryFirst= 4,422,882 UNEXPECTED_STATE_FATAL

有时重启 FE,会出现如上错误(通常只会出现在多 Follower 的情况下)。并且错误中的两个数值相差2。导致 FE 启动失败。

这是 bdbje 的一个 bug,尚未解决。遇到这种情况,只能通过元数据运维文档 中的 故障恢复 进行操作来恢复元数据了。

Q12. Doris编译安装JDK版本不兼容问题

在自己使用 Docker 编译 Doris 的时候,编译完成安装以后启动FE,出现 java.lang.Suchmethoderror: java.nio. ByteBuffer. limit (I)Ljava/nio/ByteBuffer; 异常信息,这是因为Docker里默认是JDK 11,如果你的安装环境是使用JDK8 ,需要在 Docker 里 JDK 环境切换成 JDK8,具体切换方法参照编译文档

Q13. 本地启动 FE 或者启动单元测试报错 Cannot find external parser table action_table.dat

执行如下命令

cd fe && mvn clean install -DskipTests

如果还报同样的错误,手动执行如下命令

cp fe-core/target/generated-sources/cup/org/apache/doris/analysis/action_table.dat fe-core/target/classes/org/apache/doris/analysis

Q14. Doris 升级到1.0 以后版本通过ODBC访问MySQL外表报错 Failed to set ciphers to use (2026)

这个问题出现在doris 升级到1.0 版本以后,且使用 Connector/ODBC 8.0.x 以上版本,Connector/ODBC 8.0.x 有多种获取方式,比如通过yum安装的方式获取的 /usr/lib64/libmyodbc8w.so 依赖的是 libssl.so.10libcrypto.so.10 而doris 1.0 以后版本中openssl 已经升级到1.1 且内置在doris 二进制包中,因此会导致 openssl 的冲突进而出现 类似 如下的错误

ERROR 1105 (HY000): errCode = 2, detailMessage = driver connect Error: HY000 [MySQL][ODBC 8.0(w) Driver]SSL connection error: Failed to set ciphers to use (2026)

解决方式是使用Connector/ODBC 8.0.28 版本的 ODBC Connector, 并且在操作系统处选择 Linux - Generic, 这个版本的ODBC Driver 使用 openssl 1.1 版本。或者使用低版本的ODBC Connector,比如Connector/ODBC 5.3.14。具体使用方式见 ODBC外表使用文档

可以通过如下方式验证 MySQL ODBC Driver 使用的openssl 版本

ldd /path/to/libmyodbc8w.so |grep libssl.so

如果输出包含 libssl.so.10 则使用过程中可能出现问题, 如果包含libssl.so.1.1 则与doris 1.0 兼容

Skip to main content

Install Error

Operation and Maintenance Error

This document is mainly used to record the common problems of operation and maintenance during the use of Doris. It will be updated from time to time.

The name of the BE binary that appears in this doc is doris_be, which was palo_be in previous versions.

Q1. Why is there always some tablet left when I log off the BE node through DECOMMISSION?

During the offline process, use show backends to view the tabletNum of the offline node, and you will observe that the number of tabletNum is decreasing, indicating that data shards are being migrated from this node. When the number is reduced to 0, the system will automatically delete the node. But in some cases, tabletNum will not change after it drops to a certain value. This is usually possible for two reasons:

  1. The tablets belong to the table, partition, or materialized view that was just dropped. Objects that have just been deleted remain in the recycle bin. The offline logic will not process these shards. The time an object resides in the recycle bin can be modified by modifying the FE configuration parameter catalog_trash_expire_second. These tablets are disposed of when the object is removed from the recycle bin.
  2. There is a problem with the migration task for these tablets. At this point, you need to view the errors of specific tasks through show proc "/cluster_balance".

For the above situation, you can first check whether there are unhealthy shards in the cluster through show proc "/cluster_health/tablet_health";. If it is 0, you can delete the BE directly through the drop backend statement. Otherwise, you also need to check the replicas of unhealthy shards in detail.

Q2. How should priorty_network be set?

priorty_network is a configuration parameter for both FE and BE. This parameter is mainly used to help the system select the correct network card IP as its own IP. It is recommended to explicitly set this parameter in any case to prevent the problem of incorrect IP selection caused by adding new network cards to subsequent machines.

The value of priorty_network is expressed in CIDR format. Divided into two parts, the first part is the IP address in dotted decimal, and the second part is a prefix length. For example 10.168.1.0/8 will match all 10.xx.xx.xx IP addresses, and 10.168.1.0/16 will match all 10.168.xx.xx IP addresses.

The reason why the CIDR format is used instead of specifying a specific IP directly is to ensure that all nodes can use a uniform configuration value. For example, there are two nodes: 10.168.10.1 and 10.168.10.2, then we can use 10.168.10.0/24 as the value of priorty_network.

Q3. What are the Master, Follower and Observer of FE?

First of all, make it clear that FE has only two roles: Follower and Observer. The Master is just an FE selected from a group of Follower nodes. Master can be regarded as a special kind of Follower. So when we were asked how many FEs a cluster had and what roles they were, the correct answer should be the number of all FE nodes, the number of Follower roles and the number of Observer roles.

All FE nodes of the Follower role will form an optional group, similar to the group concept in the Poxas consensus protocol. A Follower will be elected as the Master in the group. When the Master hangs up, a new Follower will be automatically selected as the Master. The Observer will not participate in the election, so the Observer will not be called Master.

A metadata log needs to be successfully written in most Follower nodes to be considered successful. For example, if there are 3 FEs, only 2 can be successfully written. This is why the number of Follower roles needs to be an odd number.

The role of Observer is the same as the meaning of this word. It only acts as an observer to synchronize the metadata logs that have been successfully written, and provides metadata reading services. He will not be involved in the logic of the majority writing.

Typically, 1 Follower + 2 Observer or 3 Follower + N Observer can be deployed. The former is simple to operate and maintain, and there is almost no consistency agreement between followers to cause such complex error situations (Most companies use this method). The latter can ensure the high availability of metadata writing. If it is a high concurrent query scenario, Observer can be added appropriately.

Q4. A new disk is added to the node, why is the data not balanced to the new disk?

The current Doris balancing strategy is based on nodes. That is to say, the cluster load is judged according to the overall load index of the node (number of shards and total disk utilization). And migrate data shards from high-load nodes to low-load nodes. If each node adds a disk, from the overall point of view of the node, the load does not change, so the balancing logic cannot be triggered.

In addition, Doris currently does not support balancing operations between disks within a single node. Therefore, after adding a new disk, the data will not be balanced to the new disk.

However, when data is migrated between nodes, Doris takes the disk into account. For example, when a shard is migrated from node A to node B, the disk with low disk space utilization in node B will be preferentially selected.

Here we provide 3 ways to solve this problem:

  1. Rebuild the new table

    Create a new table through the create table like statement, and then use the insert into select method to synchronize data from the old table to the new table. Because when a new table is created, the data shards of the new table will be distributed in the new disk, so the data will also be written to the new disk. This method is suitable for situations where the amount of data is small (within tens of GB).

  2. Through the Decommission command

    The decommission command is used to safely decommission a BE node. This command will first migrate the data shards on the node to other nodes, and then delete the node. As mentioned earlier, during data migration, the disk with low disk utilization will be prioritized, so this method can "force" the data to be migrated to the disks of other nodes. When the data migration is completed, we cancel the decommission operation, so that the data will be rebalanced back to this node. When we perform the above steps on all BE nodes, the data will be evenly distributed on all disks of all nodes.

    Note that before executing the decommission command, execute the following command to avoid the node being deleted after being offline.

    admin set frontend config("drop_backend_after_decommission" = "false");

  3. Manually migrate data using the API

    Doris provides HTTP API, which can manually specify the migration of data shards on one disk to another disk.

Q5. How to read FE/BE logs correctly?

In many cases, we need to troubleshoot problems through logs. The format and viewing method of the FE/BE log are described here.

  1. FE

    FE logs mainly include:

    • fe.log: main log. Includes everything except fe.out.
    • fe.warn.log: A subset of the main log, only WARN and ERROR level logs are logged.
    • fe.out: log for standard/error output (stdout and stderr).
    • fe.audit.log: Audit log, which records all SQL requests received by this FE.

    A typical FE log is as follows:

    2021-09-16 23:13:22,502 INFO (tablet scheduler|43) [BeLoadRebalancer.selectAlternativeTabletsForCluster():85] cluster is balance: default_cluster with medium: HDD.skip
    • 2021-09-16 23:13:22,502: log time.
    • INFO: log level, default is INFO.
    • (tablet scheduler|43): thread name and thread id. Through the thread id, you can view the context information of this thread and check what happened in this thread.
    • BeLoadRebalancer.selectAlternativeTabletsForCluster():85: class name, method name and code line number.
    • cluster is balance xxx: log content.

    Usually, we mainly view the fe.log log. In special cases, some logs may be output to fe.out.

  2. BE

    BE logs mainly include:

    • be.INFO: main log. This is actually a soft link, connected to the latest be.INFO.xxxx.
    • be.WARNING: A subset of the main log, only WARN and FATAL level logs are logged. This is actually a soft link, connected to the latest be.WARN.xxxx.
    • be.out: log for standard/error output (stdout and stderr).

    A typical BE log is as follows:

    I0916 23:21:22.038795 28087 task_worker_pool.cpp:1594] finish report TASK. master host: 10.10.10.10, port: 9222
    • I0916 23:21:22.038795: log level and datetime. The capital letter I means INFO, W means WARN, and F means FATAL.
    • 28087: thread id. Through the thread id, you can view the context information of this thread and check what happened in this thread.
    • task_worker_pool.cpp:1594: code file and line number.
    • finish report TASK xxx: log content.

    Usually we mainly look at the be.INFO log. In special cases, such as BE downtime, you need to check be.out.

Q6. How to troubleshoot the FE/BE node is down?

  1. BE

    The BE process is a C/C++ process, which may hang due to some program bugs (memory out of bounds, illegal address access, etc.) or Out Of Memory (OOM). At this point, we can check the cause of the error through the following steps:

    1. View be.out

      The BE process realizes that when the program exits due to an exception, it will print the current error stack to be.out (note that it is be.out, not be.INFO or be.WARNING). Through the error stack, you can usually get a rough idea of where the program went wrong.

      Note that if there is an error stack in be.out, it is usually due to a program bug, and ordinary users may not be able to solve it by themselves. Welcome to the WeChat group, github discussion or dev mail group for help, and post the corresponding error stack, so that you can quickly Troubleshoot problems.

    2. dmesg

      If there is no stack information in be.out, the probability is that OOM was forcibly killed by the system. At this time, you can use the dmesg -T command to view the Linux system log. If a log similar to Memory cgroup out of memory: Kill process 7187 (doris_be) score 1007 or sacrifice child appears at the end, it means that it is caused by OOM.

      Memory problems can have many reasons, such as large queries, imports, compactions, etc. Doris is also constantly optimizing memory usage. Welcome to the WeChat group, github discussion or dev mail group for help.

    3. Check whether there are logs beginning with F in be.INFO.

      Logs starting with F are Fatal logs. For example, F0916 , indicating the Fatal log on September 16th. Fatal logs usually indicate a program assertion error, and an assertion error will directly cause the process to exit (indicating a bug in the program). Welcome to the WeChat group, github discussion or dev mail group for help.

  2. FE

    FE is a java process, and the robustness is due to the C/C++ program. Usually the reason for FE to hang up may be OOM (Out-of-Memory) or metadata write failure. These errors usually have an error stack in fe.log or fe.out. Further investigation is required based on the error stack information.

Q7. About the configuration of data directory SSD and HDD, create table encounter error Failed to find enough host with storage medium and tag

Doris supports one BE node to configure multiple storage paths. Usually, one storage path can be configured for each disk. At the same time, Doris supports storage media properties that specify paths, such as SSD or HDD. SSD stands for high-speed storage device and HDD stands for low-speed storage device.

If doris cluster has only one storage medium type, the practice is not specify storage medium in be.conf configuration file. Failed to find enough host with storage medium and tag, generally we got this error for only config SSD medium in be.conf, but default parameter default_storage_medium in fe is HDD, so there is no HDD storage medium in cluster. There are several ways to fix this, one is modify the parameter in fe.conf and restart fe; the other way is take the SSD config in be.conf away,and the third way is add properties when create table {"storage_medium" = "ssd"}

By specifying the storage medium properties of the path, we can take advantage of Doris's hot and cold data partition storage function to store hot data in SSD at the partition level, while cold data is automatically transferred to HDD.

It should be noted that Doris does not automatically perceive the actual storage medium type of the disk where the storage path is located. This type needs to be explicitly indicated by the user in the path configuration. For example, the path "/path/to/data1.SSD" means that this path is an SSD storage medium. And "data1.SSD" is the actual directory name. Doris determines the storage media type based on the ".SSD" suffix after the directory name, not the actual storage media type. That is to say, the user can specify any path as the SSD storage medium, and Doris only recognizes the directory suffix and does not judge whether the storage medium matches. If no suffix is written, it will default to HDD.

In other words, ".HDD" and ".SSD" are only used to identify the "relative" "low speed" and "high speed" of the storage directory, not the actual storage medium type. Therefore, if the storage path on the BE node has no medium difference, the suffix does not need to be filled in.

Q8. Multiple FEs cannot log in when using Nginx to implement web UI load balancing

Doris can deploy multiple FEs. When accessing the Web UI, if Nginx is used for load balancing, there will be a constant prompt to log in again because of the session problem. This problem is actually a problem of session sharing. Nginx provides centralized session sharing. The solution, here we use the ip_hash technology in nginx, ip_hash can direct the request of an ip to the same backend, so that a client and a backend under this ip can establish a stable session, ip_hash is defined in the upstream configuration:

upstream doris.com {
server 172.22.197.238:8030 weight=3;
server 172.22.197.239:8030 weight=4;
server 172.22.197.240:8030 weight=4;
ip_hash;
}

The complete Nginx example configuration is as follows:

user nginx;
worker_processes auto;
error_log /var/log/nginx/error.log;
pid /run/nginx.pid;

# Load dynamic modules. See /usr/share/doc/nginx/README.dynamic.
include /usr/share/nginx/modules/*.conf;

events {
worker_connections 1024;
}

http {
log_format main '$remote_addr - $remote_user [$time_local] "$request" '
'$status $body_bytes_sent "$http_referer" '
'"$http_user_agent" "$http_x_forwarded_for"';

access_log /var/log/nginx/access.log main;

sendfile on;
tcp_nopush on;
tcp_nodelay on;
keepalive_timeout 65;
types_hash_max_size 2048;

include /etc/nginx/mime.types;
default_type application/octet-stream;

# Load modular configuration files from the /etc/nginx/conf.d directory.
# See http://nginx.org/en/docs/ngx_core_module.html#include
# for more information.
include /etc/nginx/conf.d/*.conf;
#include /etc/nginx/custom/*.conf;
upstream doris.com {
server 172.22.197.238:8030 weight=3;
server 172.22.197.239:8030 weight=4;
server 172.22.197.240:8030 weight=4;
ip_hash;
}

server {
listen 80;
server_name gaia-pro-bigdata-fe02;
if ($request_uri ~ _load) {
return 307 http://$host$request_uri ;
}

location / {
proxy_pass http://doris.com;
proxy_redirect default;
}
error_page 500 502 503 504 /50x.html;
location = /50x.html {
root html;
}
}
}

Q9. FE fails to start, "wait catalog to be ready. FE type UNKNOWN" keeps scrolling in fe.log

There are usually two reasons for this problem:

  1. The local IP obtained when FE is started this time is inconsistent with the last startup, usually because priority_network is not set correctly, which causes FE to match the wrong IP address when it starts. Restart FE after modifying priority_network.
  2. Most Follower FE nodes in the cluster are not started. For example, there are 3 Followers, and only one is started. At this time, at least one other FE needs to be started, so that the FE electable group can elect the Master to provide services.

If the above situation cannot be solved, you can restore it according to the [metadata operation and maintenance document] (../admin-manual/maint-monitor/metadata-operation.md) in the Doris official website document.

Q10. Lost connection to MySQL server at 'reading initial communication packet', system error: 0

If the following problems occur when using MySQL client to connect to Doris, this is usually caused by the different jdk version used when compiling FE and the jdk version used when running FE. Note that when using docker to compile the image, the default JDK version is openjdk 11, and you can switch to openjdk 8 through the command (see the compilation documentation for details).

Q11. recoveryTracker should overlap or follow on disk last VLSN of 4,422,880 recoveryFirst= 4,422,882 UNEXPECTED_STATE_FATAL

Sometimes when FE is restarted, the above error will occur (usually only in the case of multiple Followers). And the two values in the error differ by 2. Causes FE to fail to start.

This is a bug in bdbje that has not yet been resolved. In this case, you can only restore the metadata by performing the operation of failure recovery in Metadata Operation and Maintenance Documentation).

Q12. Doris compile and install JDK version incompatibility problem

When compiling Doris using Docker, start FE after compiling and installing, and the exception message java.lang.Suchmethoderror: java.nio.ByteBuffer.limit (I)Ljava/nio/ByteBuffer; appears, this is because the default in Docker It is JDK 11. If your installation environment is using JDK8, you need to switch the JDK environment to JDK8 in Docker. For the specific switching method, please refer to Compile Documentation)

Q13. Error starting FE or unit test locally Cannot find external parser table action_table.dat

Run the following command

cd fe && mvn clean install -DskipTests

If the same error is reported, Run the following command

cp fe-core/target/generated-sources/cup/org/apache/doris/analysis/action_table.dat fe-core/target/classes/org/apache/doris/analysis

### Q14. Doris upgrades to version 1.0 or later and reports error `Failed to set ciphers to use (2026) in MySQL appearance via ODBC.

This problem occurs after doris upgrades to version 1.0 and uses Connector/ODBC 8.0.x or higher. Connector/ODBC 8.0.x has multiple access methods, such as /usr/lib64/libmyodbc8w.so which is installed via yum and relies on libssl.so.10 and libcrypto.so.10. In doris 1.0 onwards, openssl has been upgraded to 1.1 and is built into the doris binary package, so this can lead to openssl conflicts and errors like the following

ERROR 1105 (HY000): errCode = 2, detailMessage = driver connect Error: HY000 [MySQL][ODBC 8.0(w) Driver]SSL connection error: Failed to set ciphers to use (2026)

The solution is to use the Connector/ODBC 8.0.28 version of ODBC Connector and select Linux - Generic in the operating system, this version of ODBC Driver uses openssl version 1.1. Or use a lower version of ODBC connector, e.g. Connector/ODBC 5.3.14. For details, see the ODBC exterior documentation).

You can verify the version of openssl used by MySQL ODBC Driver by

ldd /path/to/libmyodbc8w.so |grep libssl.so

If the output contains libssl.so.10, there may be problems using it, if it contains libssl.so.1.1, it is compatible with doris 1.0